Injured

As a runner, being sidelined by injury isn’t fun, but if you run long enough, it will happen at some point. Some people are more prone to injury than others, but I’ve been pretty lucky. I’ve experienced IT Band issues, plantar fasciitis and a few aches and pains along the way, but nothing too serious.

At the end of my last race, I was experiencing a tight hamstring which quickly turned into a tight calf and excruciating pain in my Achilles tendon. At first I tried to run through the pain (we’ve all been there). As it got worse, I could no longer run. I took two weeks off before resorting to a chiropractor. The chiro gave me stretches and tried the Graston Technique to loosen my calf muscles.

bruise

With no results, (other than finding out I bruise like a peach) I finally visited with my primary care physician. That’s when I got the news: micro tears in my Achilles tendon and no running for three weeks. That doesn’t seem so bad, and it could certainly be worse, but I immediately asked about what I COULD do during this time.  I planned on marathon training right now. What could I do to burn calories and clear my mind?

The doctor told me I could bike and swim in the meantime. I don’t have access to a pool, so I was down to biking. I assumed I could continue the Bikini Body Guide workouts I got from a friend and I have been doing for some time now as well.

On Saturday, I went on a 20-mile bike ride on an old rail trail. It’s just what I needed. It give me my alone time, gave me a place to listen to nature and the sounds of my own heavy breathing, all while sweating like crazy.

biking

It’s now been 8 weeks since my last long-ish run and it’s been 6 days without running. Last night I did a combo of the bike, rowing machine, and StairMaster. One of those things has my leg hurting today. I’m looking forward a walk with a friend tonight at my running club meet-up but I’m going to miss the run.

So, for those of you who have experienced injury, what did you do while you were sidelined to keep your endurance up? Please help!

2 thoughts on “Injured

  1. I did what you’re doing AND I got proactive and bought a Prostretch. Solved all my calf and shin issues. I also took more time stretching my lower back. The reason most people’s hamstrings are tight is because of a tight back.

    I am a blogger here as well and a certified fitness professional and running coach. As I started reading your post I immediately thought you probably had micro tears in your achilles and calf muscles tears as well. Again, this typically happens when there are back tightness issues.

    I hope you recover fast and please reach out if you have any questions about recovery and training.

    Here is the prostretch site: http://prostretch.com/

  2. michaelt74 says:

    I’m also on the road to recovery from an achilles related injury. Are you doing any hip strengthening exercises? As any good exercise physiology physician will tell you, injuries do not occur in isolation. I started a hip routine a few months back and I feel much stronger than I did prior to that. Websites like the SockDoc, RunnersConnect and Endurance Planet can give you some good advice.

Leave a comment