What I’m Listening To

Sometimes music gets old. Which, is why I’ve started listening to audio books and podcasts more frequently.

This summer I’ve finished FIVE books, thanks to the Audible app. That’s about four more than I’ve read listened to in the past five years! I’ve started listening to books being read to me while on my commute to work and while I run. I rarely have time make time to sit down and read. It’s just not important to me in the grand scheme of all other things on my list. Sometimes, I need to think about something other than how hard a run is, so an audio book is a great way to let my mind wonder.

Below you’ll find a list of the books I’ve read this summer with how I rated them. All five I finished, were great! One or two that I started, I couldn’t finish, either because the voice reading was annoying or because I wasn’t into it. I learned you can listen to a sample of the voice reading before you purchase, so now I do that. Below the book list, you’ll find some of my favorite podcasts too!

Summer books I listened to: 
The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda: 4.5 stars
The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena: 5 stars
The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware: 4 stars
Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris: 5 stars (Super intense and heavy)
The Breakdown: 4.5 stars

My favorite podcasts: 

IMG_6382
Human Race is my ALL-TIME FAV. This is storytelling at it’s finest. This is my go-to on my commute after work when I’m trying to motivate myself to run when I get home after a long day. Some of my favorite recent episodes are:

Ali on the Run Show: Ali Feller is a writer and editor in NYC. She shares her own journey of running and has guests talk about marathon training, yoga, mental health and wellness.

Wrongful Conviction: Another favorite! And not at all running related but IT’S SO GOOD. This podcast features men and women who have been convicted for crimes they didn’t commit- some of them had even been sentenced to death. I’m often left thinking “HOW did this happen!?”

So, tell me, what are some of your favorite things to listen to while on the run?

One thought on “What I’m Listening To

Leave a Reply

